Medical and Recreational cannabis are legal in Alaska, with medical marijuana being legalized in 1998, followed by recreational in 2014. Continue reading to learn more about Alaska's marijuana laws and where to find a dispensary.
What you need to know about Alaska’s Cannabis Laws
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of Alaska for adults aged 21 and older
- Alaska is home to XX of marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- It is legal to purchase and possess up to one ounce of flower at a recreational dispensary
- It is legal to grow up to six plants as long as three or less are flowering at one time
- Currently in Alaska use of marijuana in public places is prohibited and could result in a $100 fine
Alaska Recreational Marijuana Laws
In 2014, Alaska voters legalized recreational marijuana for adults over the age of 21 and recreational sales began in 2016. While it is legal to possess and grow marijuana on your property, you may only possess up to four ounces of flower without penalty. Possessing over four ounces of pot or the sale of any amount of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor carrying a $10,000 fine and up to one year in jail for the first offense.
Due to the global pandemic in 2020, curbside pickup and online ordering were legalized for dispensaries. Delivery services were permitted for a time but have since been repealed.
Alaska Medical Marijuana Laws
In 1998 Alaska became the second US state to legalize medical marijuana. Doctors must determine if a patient has a qualifying condition and is a good candidate for medical marijuana. Once a patient receives permission from their doctor, they must apply for a medical marijuana card with Alaska’s Department of Health and Social Services. Patients who are denied a medical card are not able to reapply for at least six months.
If you are traveling to Alaska and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you are not allowed to purchase marijuana from a medical dispensary. You may purchase up to one ounce of flower from a recreational facility in the state.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Alaska
Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in California. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, restaurants, and more.
- It is illegal to use marijuana in a vehicle for both drivers and passengers. Drivers in Alaska could be charged with a DUI if they are found to be driving under the influence of marijuana.
- Police officers may arrest drivers for DUI on “observed impairment”
Search the most popular strains in Alaska and learn all about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and much more.Discover Strains →
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Alaska including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →