Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Arizona, with medical starting in 2010 and recreational in July 2021. Read on to learn more about Arizona's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in your area.
What you need to know about Arizona’s Marijuana Laws
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of Arizona for adults aged 21 and older
- Arizona is home to XX of marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- It is legal to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana for adults aged 21 and older
- Arizona dispensaries do not accept out of state medical cards
- It is legal to cultivate up to six plants at home
- Beginning in July of 2021, prior marijuana convictions of less than an ounce of marijuana or convictions stemming from less than six marijuana plants may be petitioned to be expunged from one’s record
Arizona Recreational Marijuana Laws
Marijuana was legalized for use by adults over the age of 21 in 2020. If you live in Arizona or are visiting the state, you may carry up to one ounce of marijuana and no more than five grams of marijuana concentrate. Residents of Arizona growing marijuana are legally permitted to possess up to six plants.
Recreational marijuana legalization is new in Arizona and the licensing and roll out of recreational sales in dispensaries will continue to evolve over the coming years.
Arizona Medical Marijuana Laws
Since 2010 doctors in Arizona have been able to prescribe marijuana for their patients. Medical marijuana patients or caregivers may possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and are limited to purchasing 2.5 ounces over a two week period. In Arizona, medical marijuana patients may only grow marijuana if they live more than 25 miles from a dispensary. If they do live at least 25 miles from their nearest dispensary, they may grow up to twelve marijuana plants.
How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona
Residents of Arizona must provide a recommendation from a physician as well as a copy of their medical records that includes a qualifying condition in order to be approved for a medical marijuana card. The medical records stating your qualifying condition must have been produced within one year of applying for your medical card. The recommending doctor does not need to be your primary care physician. Submitting a medical marijuana application costs $150 and many physicians may also charge an additional process fee.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Arizona
Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in California. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, restaurants, and more.
- Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in Arizona. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, restaurants, and more.
- It is illegal to use marijuana in a vehicle for both drivers and passengers. Drivers in Arizona could be charged with a DUI if they are found to be driving under the influence of marijuana.
Search the popular strains in Arizona and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Arizona including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →