Arkansas Cannabis Laws
Medical marijuana is legal in Arkansas with recreational still remaining illegal. Read on to learn more about Arkansas' current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Arkansas
- Recreational marijuana is illegal in Arkansas and first-time offenders are subject to fines up to $2,500 and up to a year in prison
- Medical marijuana is legal in the state of Arkansas for adults with a qualifying condition who possess a medical marijuana card
- Arkansas is home to medical marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- It is illegal to grow marijuana in the state of Arkansas unless you are licensed by the state for medical marijuana cultivation
Arkansas Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2016 Arkansas passed a ballot measure to legalize medical marijuana. Doctors must determine if a patient has a qualifying condition and is a good candidate for medical marijuana. Once a patient receives permission from their doctor, they must apply for a medical marijuana card with the Department of Health in Arkansas. Patients are able to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana every 14 days from a dispensary. Neither patients or caregivers are allowed to grow marijuana.
If you are traveling to Arkansas and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you are allowed to purchase marijuana from a medical dispensary if you apply and register with the state. The application may take up to 10-14 days to process so plan ahead. All applications carry a $50 application fee.
Recreational Marijuana Legislation in Arkansas
To date, no ballot measures or bills have been voted on by either the Arkansas House or Senate in regard to recreational marijuana legalization.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Arkansas
- While Arkansas hasn’t decriminalized marijuana, Fayetteville and Eureka Springs passed initiatives aimed to make the enforcement of cannabis laws the lowest priority for law enforcement.
- Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of Arkansas and drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test if expected of driving while impaired.
Search the popular strains in Arkansas and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Arkansas including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →