Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Colorado with medical legalized in 2000 and recreational legalized in 2012. Read on to learn more about Colorado's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in Colorado.
What you need to know about Colorado’s Cannabis Laws
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of Colorado
- Medical marijuana can be available for patients as young as 18 while recreational marijuana is legal for consumers 21 and older
- Colorado is home to a number of marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- Colorado dispensaries do not accept out of state medical cards but out of state medical marijuana patients can purchase up to an ounce of recreational marijuana
- It is legal to cultivate up to six marijuana plants per person in Colorado but only three plants can be flowering
- No matter how many residents, households are limited to cultivating no more than 12 marijuana plants
- Currently in Colorado use of marijuana in public places is prohibited
Colorado Recreational Marijuana Laws
Marijuana was legalized for use by adults over the age of 21 in 2012 with recreational sales beginning in 2014. If you live in Colorado or are visiting the state, you may purchase up to one ounce of marijuana. In 2019, Colorado legalized marijuana lounges and cafes where customers can consume marijuana. Residents of Colorado growing marijuana are legally permitted to grow up to six plants per person with no more than three plants flowering. No more than 12 marijuana plants can be grown at a single residence.
Delivery services for both medical and recreational marijuana was legalized in 2019. Check out our map of dispensaries in Colorado to find the closest recreational store or delivery service near you.
Colorado Medical Marijuana Laws
Since 2000, doctors in Colorado have been able to prescribe marijuana for patients with a qualifying condition. There are a variety of qualifying conditions including cancer, glaucoma, seizures, PTSD and a number of other conditions. Patients may possess up to two ounces of medical marijuana and grow up to six plants in their home. Similar to recreational marijuana laws, only three plants can be flowering at a time.
How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado
Residents of Colorado have a few options when it comes to getting a medical card in Colorado. You could meet with a physician in personal or video chat online to discuss your symptoms and determine if medical marijuana is the best option for you. Applying for a medical marijuana card costs $25 and patients must complete registration online once approved.
Medical marijuana patients must renew their medical card anywhere from 60 days to one year, as determined by your physician.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Colorado
- Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in Colorado. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, restaurants, and more.
- It is illegal to use marijuana in a vehicle for both drivers and passengers. Cannabis DUI laws allow for officers to administer on-site sobriety tests to determine if a driver is impaired. Cannabis impairment may be determined if a driver’s blood has 5 or more nanograms per milliliter.
- Colorado now requires marijuana to be tested for pesticides, mycotoxins and heavy metals.
Search the popular strains in Colorado and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Colorado including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →