Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in Georgia. Read on to learn more about Georgia's current marijuana laws.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Georgia
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in the state of Georgia
- Possession of over an ounce of marijuana carries a mandatory minimum of one year in jail
- Growing marijuana in the state of Georgia is illegal and violators face jail time based on the total weight of their plants with a minimum mandatory sentence of 1 year in prison
- In Georgia, businesses may sell CBD products as long as they contain less than 5% THC and contain more CBD than THC
- 11 cities in Georgia have decriminalized marijuana possession to reduce penalties and mandatory minimum sentences for offenders
Marijuana Legislation in Georgia
In 2015 a measure was passed to allow medical cannabis oil as long as it contained less than 5% THC and more CBD than THC. It wasn’t until 2019 that Georgia lawmakers approved House Bill 324 that allowed cannabis to be grown in the state. Atlanta and Savannah have both passed measures reducing the penalties for possession of marijuana as well as Clarkston, South Fulton, Forest Park, Kingsland, Statesboro, Macon-Bibb County, and Chamblee.
Cultivating marijuana is illegal for all citizens but medical patients may possess up to 20 ounces of infused CBD oil. To use low-THC CBD oil, residents must have their doctor submit an application if their doctor feels they would be a good candidate for CBD oil. If approved, patients can pick up their medical cards for $25 at a local public office. These medical cards are good for two years.
Out-of-state medical marijuana card holders may possess low-THC medical CBD products if they contain less than 5% THC and more CBD than THC.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Georgia
Possession up to 1 ounce: Penalties for first-time offenders possessing marijuana are a misdemeanor and include a $1,000 fine and up to a year in jail.
Possession over 1 ounce: Penalties for possessing over an ounce include a $5,000 fine and anywhere from one to ten years in jail. This felony carries a mandatory minimum of one year in jail.
Sale and Cultivation of Marijuana: A felony punishable anywhere from one to forty years along with fines ranging from $1,000-$1,000,000; penalties escalating based on total pounds. These felonies come with mandatory minimum sentences ranging from 1-15 years.
More History on Marijuana Legalization Attempts in Georgia
In 1980, Georgia’s House and Senate passed a bill to offer legal medical marijuana glaucoma and cancer patients undergoing chemotherapy and radiation. Soon after the program appears to have ended without providing medical marijuana as it was intended.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Georgia
- In Georgia, police are able to search a vehicle if they believe they smell marijuana
- Penalties for driving while under the influence of marijuana are harsh and carry mandatory minimum prison sentences
- There are only a few licensed marijuana growers in Georgia for the production of medical CBD oil