Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in Iowa. Read on to learn more about Iowa's current marijuana laws.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Iowa
- Certain forms of medical low-THC CBD are legal in the state of Iowa for adults with a qualifying condition who possess a medical marijuana card
- Iowa is home to a handful of medical marijuana dispensaries located in the state's largest cities
- Recreational marijuana is illegal in Iowa
- First-time offenders for possession of marijuana face up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine
- It is illegal to grow marijuana in the state of Iowa for residents even if you possess a medical marijuana card
Iowa Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2014, Iowa passed a law allowing doctors to prescribe low-THC CBD oil to epilepsy patients. The Medical Cannabidiol Act that allowed possession of CBD oil with a physician’s recommendation has expanded over the years with the focus mainly on expanding the list of qualifying conditions. Smokable forms of medical marijuana remain illegal as patients and typically prescribed the low-THC CBD oil in capsules or other forms to take orally.
Patients may apply for a Medical Cannabidiol Card online if they have a certification form from their physician. The application fee costs $100 and if approved, a medical card is valid for one year.
If you are traveling to Iowa and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you are not allowed to purchase marijuana from a medical dispensary. Out-of-state medical card holders are not exempt from current marijuana laws in the state and could face fines and penalties associated with possession of marijuana. Iowa’s laws to permit out-of-state medical card holders to possess low-THC CBD oil that is in line with Iowa’s state laws.
Recreational Marijuana Legislation in Iowa
With smokable forms of medical marijuana still illegal in the state there is still a long way to go before recreational marijuana is seriously considered. Bill’s proposed in the past decade aimed at decriminalizing or deprioritizing marijuana have been voted down. Possession of small amounts of marijuana in Iowa are misdemeanor crimes and repeat offenders may be required to attend a drug treatment program. Selling and growing marijuana are felony crimes in the state of Iowa with first-time offenders facing five years in prison and up to $7,500 in fines.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Iowa
- Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of Iowa and drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test if expected of driving while impaired
- Refusal to submit to a chemical test could result in a suspended license for a minimum of 90 days
- The use of marijuana in public places is prohibited even for medical marijuana patients
- Medical Cannabidiol Cards must be renewed annually