Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in Kansas. Read on to learn more about Kansas's current marijuana laws.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Kansas
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in the state of Kansas
- Possession of under an ounce of marijuana carries a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail
- Growing marijuana in the state of Kansas is illegal and violators growing even five plants could face seven years in jail and up to $300,000 in fines
- In 2018, a bill was signed into law exempting CBD oil from the definition of marijuana making it legal to possess CBD oil containing less than 5% THC
- In 2021, the Kansas House of Representatives passed legislation on legalizing medical marijuana for patients with qualifying conditions
Marijuana Legislation in Kansas
In 2018 a bill was passed to allow for the possession and production of medical CBD oil as long as it contained less than 5% THC. In order to process the hemp into CBD oil producers must apply for a license with the state government. In May of 2021, the Kansas State House of Representatives passed a medical marijuana bill that would allow the sale of marijuana products to patients with qualifying conditions. The bill will next need to be passed by the Senate but a vote is not expected until next year.
There has been little progress in regard to legalizing marijuana for recreational use but there is some support with lawmakers in Kansas. Current Governor Laura Kelly has spoken out in favor of both medical and some form of recreational marijuana legalization. There have been bills passed in the last five years to reduce penalties for marijuana possession in the state.
Out-of-state medical marijuana card holders may possess medical CBD products if they contain less than 5% THC.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Kansas
Possession up to 1 ounce: Penalties for first-time offenders possessing marijuana are a misdemeanor and include a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail.
Second offense: Penalties for possessing under an ounce a second time include a $2,500 fine and a maximum of one year in jail.
Third Offense: A felony punishable up to three years in jail along with fines up to $100,000.
Selling under an ounce of marijuana is a felony and punishable with up to 51 months in jail and $300,000 in fines. Penalties for growing marijuana are harsh in Kansas with growing even five plants being a felony charge with up to seven years in jail and $300,000 in fines.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Kansas
- In Kansas, police may ask drivers to submit to a chemical test if they believe the driver is under the influence of marijuana
- If a driver refuses a chemical test, their license will be suspended for one year