Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in Kentucky. Read on to learn more about Kentucky's current marijuana laws.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Kentucky
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in the state of Kentucky
- Possession of up to eight ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor carrying a $250 fine and up to 45 days in jail
- Growing marijuana in the state of Kentucky is illegal and violators growing fewer than five plants could face one year in jail and up to $500 in fines
- In 2014, a law was signed that allowed patients to use CBD derivatives as a form of treatment if recommended by a physician
- In 2020, the Kentucky House of Representatives passed legislation on legalizing medical marijuana for patients with qualifying conditions
Marijuana Legislation in Kentucky
Since 2014, physician’s practicing in a Kentucky research hospital have been able to prescribe patients CBD suffering from epilepsy. In 2017, a House bill was passed allowing the sale and consumption of low-THC, hemp derived CBD for all citizens.
Medical marijuana bills have been voted down by state legislators multiple times over the past decade. In February of 2020, the Kentucky State House of Representatives passed a bill legalizing certain forms of medical marijuana for qualifying patients. The bill stalled due to complications with COVID-19 but lawmakers are making plans to reintroduce the bill. There has been little progress in regard to legalizing marijuana for recreational use in the state of Kentucky.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Kentucky
Possession up to 8 ounces: A misdemeanor offense including a $250 fine and up to 45 days in jail.
Possession over 8 ounces: A felony offense punishable by up to 5 years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines.
Sale less than 8 ounces: A misdemeanor punishable up to a year in jail along with fines up to $500.
Sale more than 8 ounces: A felony punishable up to 5 years in jail along with fines up to $10,000.
If residents are found growing less than five plants they could be charged with a misdemeanor, punishable with up to a year in kail and a $500 fine. Growing more than five plants is a felony punishable with up to five years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Kentucky
- In Kentucky, police may ask drivers to submit to a chemical test if they believe the driver is under the influence of marijuana
- If a driver refuses a chemical test, their license will be suspended
- Public consumption of marijuana is illegal and if caught offenders may be charged with a misdemeanor