Michigan Marijuana Laws
Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Michigan with medical legalized in 2008 and recreational legalized in 2018. Read on to learn more about California's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in your area.
What you need to know about Michigan’s Cannabis Laws
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of Michigan for adults aged 21 and older
- Michigan is home to 274 of marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- It is legal to possess/transport up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and have up to 10 ounces stored at home for adults aged 21 and older
- It is legal to cultivate up to 12 plants at home in an enclosed, locked facility
- Currently in Michigan use of marijuana in public places is prohibited
Michigan Recreational Marijuana Laws
Marijuana was legalized for use by adults over the age of 21 in 2018 and retail sales began in 2019. If you live in Michigan or are visiting the state, you may carry up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and up to 15 grams of cannabis concentrate. Residents of Michigan growing marijuana are legally permitted to possess twelve plants per person as long as the plants are in an enclosed locked facility. Recreational users are limited to purchasing up to 2.5 ounces of flower per visit.
Michigan law allows cities and towns to make their own laws on regulating marijuana. While there are a number of recreational stores in cities across Michigan, there are many locations only serving medical patients. Check out our list of dispensaries in Michigan to find the closest recreational store or delivery service near you.
Recreational marijuana purchases are currently subject to a 10% excise tax on top of the state’s 6% sales tax.
Michigan Medical Marijuana Laws
Since 2008 doctors in Michigan have been able to prescribe marijuana for qualifying patients. Qualifying conditions include Cancer, Parkinson’s Disease, Glaucoma, MS, Hepatitis C, Arthritis, PTSD, among other debilitating medical conditions. Medical patients have similar restrictions to recreational users as they are allowed to carry up to 2.5 ounces and store 10 ounces at home. The biggest difference between medical and recreational users is that medical marijuana patients may possess up to 16 ounces of infused products and up to 36 fluid ounces of products in liquid form. All Michigan residents may legally grow up to 12 mature plants.
How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in Michigan
Residents of Michigan must first obtain a copy of their medical records that includes one of the qualifying conditions. Residents may also receive a written recommendation from their physician recommending the use of medical marijuana. Once you have your records or written recommendation, visit a medical marijuana clinic in the state to review with a doctor from the clinic. Clinics typically charge a $200 certification fee and $60 application fee for qualified patients. Once certified, patients may apply for a medical marijuana card on the state’s medical marijuana registration website.
Medical marijuana cards must be renewed every two years. The renewal fee is $150.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Michigan
- Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in Michigan. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, and restaurants
- It is illegal to use marijuana in a vehicle for both drivers and passengers. Drivers in Michigan could be charged with a DUI if they are found to be driving under the influence of marijuana
- If you are planning to grow marijuana plants at home, be sure they are in a locked and enclosed space
Search the popular strains in California and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Michigan including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →