outline of the state of Mississippi with a cannabis leaf

Mississippi Marijuana Laws


Recreational and medical marijuana are both illegal in Mississippi, but since 2014 physicians have been able to prescribe CBD as a medication. Continue reading to learn more about cannabis laws in Mississippi.

Cannabis Products Legal to Purchase in Mississippi

What you need to know about Mississippi’s Cannabis Laws

  • Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in the state of Mississippi
  • CBD oil containing less than 0.5% THC is legal when prescribed by a physician
  • Possession of up to 30 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor offense punishable by a $250 fine and up to 90 days in jail
  • In 2020, Mississippi voters approved a measure legalizing medical marijuana but the initiative was overturned by the Mississippi Supreme Court

Marijuana Legislation in Mississippi

Since 2014, physician’s practicing in a Mississippi have been able to prescribe patients CBD oil if they feel the patient would benefit from the cannabidiol. The CBD oil is produced by three research centers licensed by the state. Physicians can obtain CBD oil from the Department of Pharmacy Services at the University of Mississippi Medical Center.

Despite medical marijuana being approved by voters the Mississippi Supreme Court, there was a flaw in the state’s ballot initiative process and the measure should not have been included. According to the Supreme Court, this flaw makes it impossible for any citizen-initiated ballot measure to qualify. There is little support from lawmakers in Mississippi when it comes to any marijuana legalization efforts.

Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Mississippi

Possession up to 30 grams: A misdemeanor offense including a $250 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Probation is typically given instead of jail time.

Mississippi Cannabis Laws

Possession between 30-250 grams: A felony offense punishable by up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Possession between 250-500 grams: A felony punishable with a minimum of two years in jail along with a fine of $50,000.

Penalties for possession continue to escalate based on total weight with penalties as severe as a minimum of 10 years in jail and a $10,000,000 fine for possessing over five kilos.

Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Mississippi

  • In Mississippi, police may ask drivers to submit to a chemical test if they believe the driver is under the influence of marijuana – this could include a suspicious smell or behavior
  • If a driver refuses a chemical test, their license will be suspended for 90 days
  • Public consumption of marijuana is illegal and if caught offenders may be charged with a misdemeanor
motor vehicles & marijuana

Can you drive while high on marijuana in Mississippi?