Missouri Marijuana Laws
Recreational marijuana is illegal in Missouri with medical legalized in 2018. Read on to learn more about Missouri's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in your area.
What you need to know about Missouri’s Cannabis Laws
- Medical marijuana is legal in the state of Missouri for adults with a qualifying condition who are registered with the Missouri Department of Health
- Missouri is home to more than 15 medical marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- Recreational marijuana is illegal in Missouri
- Possessing up to 10 grams of marijuana in Missouri is a class D misdemeanor resulting in a fine of up to $500
- If a medical marijuana patient wants to grow marijuana, they must pay an additional fee of $100 for a patient cultivation license
Missouri Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2018, Missouri legalized the use of medical marijuana for qualified patients if recommended by a physician. Qualifying conditions include cancer, epilepsy, glaucoma, chronic medical conditions, terminal illnesses, ALS, autism among many other debilitating conditions. In early 2020 medical dispensaries began opening up across the state to serve patients. Prior to medical marijuana legalization, CBD oil was legalized to treat seizures in epileptics in 2014.
How to get approved for medical marijuana in Missouri
If diagnosed with a qualifying condition, patients may meet with a health practitioner in the state of Missouri to talk with their doctor if they feel medical marijuana is a good option as part of their treatment. If the medical practitioner feels a patient is a good candidate for medical marijuana, they will send a physician certification form to the Department of Health and Senior Services approving their patient for medical marijuana. Once approved, patients have 30 days to register with the state’s online portal.
Patients must be medically evaluated annually to retain certification for access to medical marijuana.
If you are traveling to Missouri and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you are not allowed to purchase marijuana from a medical dispensary.
Recreational Marijuana Legislation in Missouri
In 2014, marijuana was partially decriminalized in the state of Missouri meaning offenders would only need to pay a fine if found with 10 grams or less but the violation is still classified as a misdemeanor offense. There has been little progress on the legalization of recreational marijuana. A majority of lawmakers in the state of Missouri are Republican and marijuana legalization is rarely popular within the party.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Missouri
Possessing between 10-35 grams of marijuana is a class A misdemeanor punishable with up to a year in jail and a $2,000 fine. Possessing over 35 grams is a class D felony and could carry anywhere from one to seven years in jail along with a fine. Growing marijuana in the state carries even harsher penalties and residents caught with even a single plant could face up to four years in prison. If you are caught with marijuana paraphernalia and it is not your first offense you could face up to a year in jail.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Missouri
- Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of Missouri and drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test if expected of driving while impaired
- The use of marijuana in public places is prohibited even for medical marijuana patients
- In order to grow marijuana in the state you must possess a medical marijuana cultivator license
Search the popular strains in Missouri and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Missouri including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →