outline of the state of Montana with a cannabis leaf

Montana Marijuana Laws

Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Montana with medical legalized in 2004 and recreational legalized in 2020. Read on to learn more about Montana's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in your area.

Cannabis Products Legal to Purchase in Montana

What you need to know about Montana’s Cannabis Laws

  • Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of Montana for adults aged 21 and older
  • Montana is home to more than 150 marijuana dispensaries located across the state
  • It is legal to possess/transport up to one ounce of marijuana and up to 8 grams of cannabis concentrate
  • It is legal to cultivate up to four plants per adult but no more than eight per household
  • Currently in Montana use of marijuana in public places and federal property, including national parks, is prohibited

Montana Recreational Marijuana Laws

Marijuana was legalized for use by adults over the age of 21 in November of 2020 and recreational sales are scheduled to begin in January 2022. If you live in Montana or are visiting the state, you may carry up to one ounce of marijuana and up to 8 grams of cannabis concentrate. Possessing more than this without a medical card is a felony offense punishable with up to five years in jail and a $5,000 fine. Recreational marijuana dispensaries are not allowed to advertise in local newspapers or television.

Once recreational dispensaries are open you can check out our map of dispensaries in Montana to find the closest recreational store or delivery service near you. Recreational marijuana purchases will be subject to a flat-rate 20% tax when retail sales begin in 2022.

Montana Marijuana Laws

Montana Medical Marijuana Laws

Medical marijuana was legalized in Montana in 2004 but has undergone a lot of changes over the years. In 2011, lawmakers attempted to control the boom in medical patients by restricting dispensaries to only serving three patients per location. At one point, patients were only able to purchase medical marijuana from a single provider. Today, many of these restrictions that were introduced have been reversed.

How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in Montana

Residents of Montana can schedule an evaluation with a physician to discuss if they have a condition that could be treated by medical marijuana. If a doctor feels someone is a good candidate for marijuana they must fill out an application and include the doctor’s recommendation along with a $30 application fee. Qualifying conditions include cancer, glaucoma, chronic pain, epilepsy, MS, seizures, PTSD, among others.

Medical marijuana cards must be renewed every year and the renewal fee is $10.

Timeline of Marijuana Legislation in California

Timeline of Marijuana Legislation in California

Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Montana

  • Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in Montana. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, and restaurants
  • It is illegal to drive a vehicle under the influence of marijuana. Drivers in Montana could be asked to submit to a chemical test to measure the amount of THC in their blood, over 5ng/ml is defined as impaired
  • Refusal to submit to a chemical test would result in an immediate six month suspension of your license for first time offenders
motor vehicles & marijuana

Can you drive while high on marijuana in Montana?

Popular Strains

Popular Strains

Search the popular strains in Montana and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.

Discover Strains


Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Montana including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.

Browse Dispensaries