Nevada Marijuana Laws
Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Nevada with medical legalized in 2000 and recreational legalized in 2016. Read on to learn more about Nevada's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in your area.
What you need to know about Nevada’s Cannabis Laws
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of Nevada for adults aged 21 and older
- Nevada is home to more than 70 of marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- It is legal to possess/transport up to one ounce of marijuana and up 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrate
- For residents living over 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, it is legal to cultivate up to twelve plants at home for medical patients and six plants for recreational users as long as plants are in an enclosed, locked location or facility
- Currently in Nevada use of marijuana in public places is prohibited
Nevada Recreational Marijuana Laws
Marijuana was legalized for use by adults over the age of 21 in 2016 and retail sales began in 2017. If you live in Nevada or are visiting the state, you may carry up to one ounce of marijuana and up to 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrate. Residents of Nevada growing marijuana are legally permitted to possess six plants per person but no more than twelve per household as long as the plants are in an enclosed, locked facility. Recreational users are limited to purchasing up to an ounce of flower per visit.
While there are a number of recreational stores in cities across Nevada, there are many locations only serving medical patients. Check out our map of dispensaries in Nevada to find the closest recreational store or delivery service near you. In Las Vegas, some dispensaries offer drive-thru services.
Recreational marijuana purchases are currently subject to a 10% excise tax on top of the state’s 4.6% sales tax.
Nevada Medical Marijuana Laws
Since 2000 doctors in Nevada have been able to prescribe marijuana for qualifying patients. Qualifying conditions include cancer, AIDS, glaucoma, seizures, MS, PTSD, among other debilitating medical conditions. Medical patients have similar restrictions to recreational users but they are allowed to carry up to 2.5 ounces. Nevada medical marijuana patients may grow up to twelve plants if they live more than 25 miles from the closest medical marijuana dispensary.
Medical marijuana purchases are subject to the standard 4.6% sales tax in the state of Nevada.
How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in Nevada
Residents of Nevada must first sign up on the Online Cardholder Registry and submit an application request form with a $25 fee. After receiving your application, patients must meet with a MD or Doctor of Osteopathy to receive a recommendation to use medical marijuana to treat a qualifying condition. The recommendation must be included in your application along with a $75 processing fee to be sent to the Division of Public Behavioral Health. Medical marijuana cards must be renewed every year.
Nevada’s medical dispensaries accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Nevada
- Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in Nevada. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, and restaurants
- It is illegal to use marijuana in a vehicle for both drivers and passengers. Drivers in Nevada could be asked to submit a chemical test if officers suspect the vehicle operator to be driving under the influence of marijuana
- If you are planning to grow marijuana plants at home, be sure they are in a locked and enclosed space, out of sight from any public locations
Search the popular strains in Nevada and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Nevada including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →