Medical marijuana is legal in New Hampshire with medical legalized in 2013 and recreational decriminalized in 2017. Read on to learn more about New Hampshire's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary within New Hampshire.
What you need to know about New Hampshire’s Cannabis Laws
- Medical marijuana is legal in the state of New Hampshire for adults with a qualifying condition who are registered with the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
- New Hampshire is home to 5 medical marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- Recreational marijuana is illegal in New Hampshire
- Possessing up to 21 grams of marijuana in New Hampshire is an infraction resulting in a fine of $100 for a first or second offense
- Growing marijuana in the state of New Hampshire is illegal for medical marijuana patients as well as ordinary citizens
New Hampshire Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2013, New Hampshire legalized the use of medical marijuana for qualified patients if recommended by a physician. Qualifying patients must suffer from chronic or terminal illnesses or debilitating medical conditions. Qualifying conditions include cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, MS, epilepsy, lupus, Parkinson’s disease, among others. Medical marijuana patients are prohibited from growing their own marijuana for treatment in New Hampshire.
How to get approved for medical marijuana in New Hampshire
If diagnosed with a qualifying condition, patients may meet with a physician in the state of New Hampshire to obtain certification that they are a good candidate for medical marijuana. Once patients receive certification from a physician, they can submit an application for a registry identification card with the Department of Health and Human Services Therapeutic Cannabis Program.
Registry identification cards must be renewed annually.
If you are traveling to New Hampshire and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you may purchase marijuana from a medical dispensary.
Recreational Marijuana Legislation in New Hampshire
Over the past five years, multiple bills have been introduced aimed at legalizing recreational marijuana in the state. Despite one recent bill being passed in New Hampshire’s House of Representatives, no recreational marijuana legislation has made it out of the Senate. New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu is also against the legalization of marijuana making the road to legalization a very difficult one. In 2017, possessing up to 21 grams of marijuana was decriminalized and now punishable by a $100 fine.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession in New Hampshire
Possessing over 21 grams of marijuana is a misdemeanor offense that could result in up to a year in jail and a fine of $350. Sale and cultivation of more than five pounds could result in a twenty year prison sentence and fines as high as $300,000.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in New Hampshire
- Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of New Hampshire and drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test if expected of driving while impaired
- The use of marijuana in public places is prohibited even for medical marijuana patients
- Only state licensed marijuana cultivators may grow marijuana in the state of New Hampshire
Search the popular strains in New Hampshire and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.Discover Strains →
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in New Hampshire including: medical, recreational, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →