Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in New Jersey with medical legalized in 2010 and recreational legalized in 2021. Read on to learn more about New Jersey's current marijuana laws and where you can find a dispensary in the Garden State.
What you need to know about New Jersey’s Cannabis Laws
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of New Jersey for adults aged 21 and older
- New Jersey is home to more than a dozen marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- It is legal to possess/transport up to six ounces of marijuana for adults aged 21 and older
- It is legal to cultivate up to six plants per person but no more than twelve plants per household – medical patients may grow up to ten plants
- Currently in New Jersey use of marijuana in public places is prohibited
New Jersey Recreational Marijuana Laws
Marijuana was legalized for use by adults over the age of 21 in late 2020 and retail sales could begin as early as August of 2021. If you live in New Jersey or are visiting the state, you may carry up to six ounces of marijuana. Residents of New Jersey growing marijuana are legally permitted to cultivate six plants per person but no more than twelve plants per household. Part of the amendment restricted added tax on top of New Jersey’s standard sales tax.
New Jersey law allows cities and towns to make their own laws on regulating marijuana. With recreational marijuana new to New Jersey, many dispensaries are only serving medical patients. Check out our map of dispensaries in New Jersey to find the closest recreational store near you.
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Laws
Since 2010 doctors in New Jersey have been able to prescribe marijuana for qualifying patients. Despite medical marijuana being legal, then Governor Chris Christie created a lot of hurdles that slowed access to medical marijuana for patients. Six years after medical marijuana was legalized, only five dispensaries were licensed in the state. Patients were al required to re-certify with their physicians every 30, 60, or 90 days. Since Governor Phil Murphy arrived in 2018, access to medical marijuana has significantly improved for patients.
Medical marijuana qualifying conditions in New Jersey include cancer, Parkinson’s Disease, glaucoma, MS, opioid use disorder, Tourette syndrome, seizures, PTSD, among other debilitating medical conditions. Medical marijuana patients may grow up to 10 plants at home.
How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey
Residents of New Jersey must first meet with a doctor who is registered with the medical marijuana program to see if marijuana is a good form of treatment for their condition. If approved, a doctor will provide a patient with a reference number to use when they register on the New Jersey Health website. Registration fees are $100 for most patients.
Medical marijuana cards must be renewed every two years.
California Medical Marijuana Laws
Since 1996 doctors in California have been able to prescribe marijuana for their patients. In 2003, a statewide ID card program was established for medical patients. There are currently no limits on how much marijuana medical patients can possess, physicians can prescribe marijuana consistent with a patient’s needs. Both medical patients and recreational users are legally allowed to grow up to six plants per household.
Medical marijuana patients must renew their medical card annually.
How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in California
Residents of California have a few options when it comes to getting a medical card in California. You could meet with a physician in personal or video chat online to discuss your symptoms and determine if medical marijuana is the best option for you. Approved patients will be issued a letter and ID code that registers with the California Medical Marijuana Program. In California, patients can also apply for county-issued medical marijuana ID cards.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in New Jersey
- Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in New Jersey. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, and restaurants
- It is illegal to use marijuana in a vehicle for both drivers and passengers. Drivers in New Jersey could be charged with a DUI if they are found to be driving under the influence of marijuana
- If you are planning to grow marijuana plants at home, be sure they are in a space that can’t be seen by the public
Search the popular strains in New Jersey and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.Discover Strains →