Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in North Carolina. Read on to learn more about North Carolina's current marijuana laws.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in North Carolina
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in the state of North Carolina
- Low-THC CBD oil is legal to treat epilepsy in the state although there is no infrastructure to help patients in need acquire CBD oil
- Possession of up to 14 grams of marijuana is decriminalized and punishable by a $200 fine
- Neither medical or recreational marijuana legislation has made it far in either the House or Senate
- Sale, delivery, or cultivation of marijuana under ten pounds is punishable by three to eight months in prison and a $1,000 fine
Marijuana Legislation in North Carolina
Since 2015, physician’s practicing in North Carolina have been able to recommend CBD oil for children suffering from intractable epilepsy. Despite these specific use cases, CBD oil is available in North Carolina at a number of stores across the state. Federally, the sale of CBD is legal in the United States as long as there is less than 0.3% THC present in the oil. In 2017, North Carolina restarted their Industrial Hemp Pilot Program.
A number of medical marijuana bills and even some recreational marijuana bills have been drafted in the House and Senate. As recent as 2019 and 2020 medical marijuana bills have been introduced but failed to progress. There is wide support across North Carolina citizens for medical marijuana legalization as more and more states are offering medical marijuana treatment for their in-state citizens.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in North Carolina
Possession up to 14 grams: A misdemeanor offense punishable by a $250 fine.
Possession between 14-42 grams: A misdemeanor offense punishable by 1-45 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Possession between 42 grams and 10 pounds: A felony punishable with 3-8 months in jail along with a fine of $1,000.
Possessing up to 10 pounds with intent to sell or distribute is a felony offense punishable by 4-8 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in North Carolina
- In North Carolina, police may ask drivers to submit to a chemical test if they believe the driver is under the influence of marijuana and operating a motor vehicle
- If a driver refuses a chemical test, their license will be suspended for one year
- Public consumption of marijuana is illegal and if caught offenders may be charged with a misdemeanor