Only medical marijuana is legal in Oklahoma having been legalized in 2018. Read on to learn more about Oklahoma's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in Oklahoma.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Oklahoma
- Medical marijuana is legal in the state of Oklahoma for patients who receive a recommendation from a board-certified physician
- Oklahoma is home to over 600 medical marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- Recreational marijuana is illegal in Oklahoma
- Possessing up to 100 grams of marijuana in Oklahoma is a misdemeanor punishable by a $150 fine without any jail time
- Growing marijuana in your home is illegal in the state of Oklahoma, even for medical marijuana patients
Recreational Marijuana Legislation in Oklahoma
There has been little progress in any recreational legalization efforts over the past few years in Oklahoma. No significant legalization efforts have been made in recent years.
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2018, Oklahoma legalized the use of medical marijuana for qualified patients if recommended by a board-certified physician. Oklahoma has some of the least restrictive medical marijuana laws in the country. Oklahoma does not lay out qualifying conditions that patients must be diagnosed with in order to apply for a medical marijuana card. Any board certified physician may recommend medical marijuana for patients they feel would benefit from the use of medical marijuana.
Medical marijuana patients may grow up to six mature plants and six immature plants in their home. The plants must not be visible from the street of one’s home. Medical marijuana patients may possess up to eight ounces at home, three ounces on their person, one ounce of marijuana concentrate, and up to 72 ounces of edible marijuana.
How to get approved for medical marijuana in Oklahoma
Applications must be submitted online through the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority. Residents of Oklahoma must provide an Adult Patient Physician Recommendation form from a board-certified physician with their application within 30 days of receiving the recommendation. The application fee is $100. Once approved, patients should receive their medical marijuana card in the mail within two weeks of submittal..
Medical marijuana cards must be renewed annually.
If you are traveling to Oklahoma and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you can obtain a temporary adult patient license - Adult Patient Application
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Oklahoma
- Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of Oklahoma and drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test if expected of driving while impaired
- Medical marijuana patients may smoke marijuana anywhere that tobacco users may legally smoke
- Edible marijuana may be consumed anywhere (excluding federal property within the state)
Search the popular strains in Oklahoma and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.Discover Strains →