Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Oregon with medical legalized in 1998 and recreational legalized in 2014. Read on to learn more about Oregon's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in Oregon.
What you need to know about Oregon’s Marijuana Laws
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are legal in the state of Oregon
- Medical marijuana can be available for patients as young as 18 while recreational marijuana is legal for consumers 21 and older
- Oregon is home to hundreds of marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- Oregon dispensaries do not accept out of state medical cards but out of state medical marijuana patients can purchase recreational marijuana
- It is legal to cultivate up to four marijuana plants per household
- Medical marijuana patients may possess up to 24 ounces and recreational users may possess up eight ounces in their home at once
- Medical marijuana is not taxed but recreational marijuana is taxed on average between 17%-20%
Oregon Recreational Marijuana Laws
In 2014, marijuana was legalized for use by adults over the age of 21 in Oregon. If you live in Oregon or are visiting the state, you may purchase up to one ounce of marijuana. Residents of Oregon growing marijuana are legally permitted to grow up to four plants per household. There are different limits on possession for users in their private residence and in public. Recreational users may possess eight ounces of flower in their home and one ounce of flower in public. Despite legalization, penalties for possessing over the legal limits set by the state could result in fines and jail time for offenders. Growing more than eight plants in a private residence is a felony offense punishable with up to five years in jail and $125,000 in fines.
Recreational marijuana is typically taxed between 17%-20%.
Residents and visitors can find recreational and medical dispensaries with PotAdvisor today. Check out the city maps (linked below) to find the closest recreational or medical dispensary near you.
Oregon Medical Marijuana Laws
Since 1998, doctors in Oregon have been able to prescribe marijuana for patients with a qualifying condition. There are a variety of qualifying conditions including cancer, glaucoma, seizures, PTSD and a number of other conditions. Patients may possess up to twenty-four ounces of medical marijuana and grow up to four plants in their home without a special cultivation license. Medical marijuana is not taxed in Oregon.
How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon
Residents of Oregon can apply for a medical marijuana card with the Oregon Health Authority online. Applicants will need to obtain a recommendation from a physician to use medical marijuana as a form of treatment. Applying for a medical marijuana card costs $200 but there are discounts for some qualified applicants.
Medical marijuana patients in Oregon must renew their medical card annually.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Oregon
- Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in Oregon. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, restaurants, and more
- It is illegal to drive a vehicle under the influence of marijuana. Officers may determine impairment for general indicators including red eyes, odor, body tremors, relaxed inhibitions as well as impaired perception of time and distance
Search the popular strains in Oregon and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.