Medical marijuana is legal in Pennsylvania having been legalized in 2014. Read on to learn more about Pennsylvania's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in Pennsylvania.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Pennsylvania
- Medical marijuana is legal in the state of Pennsylvania for adults with a qualifying condition who are prescribed marijuana as a form of treatment by an approved physician
- Smoking marijuana is illegal, medical patients may use topicals, oils, pills, liquids and tinctures
- Pennsylvania is home to over 100 medical marijuana dispensaries located throughout the state
- Recreational marijuana is illegal in Pennsylvania
- Possessing up to 30 grams of marijuana in Pennsylvania is a misdemeanor punishable up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine
- Growing marijuana in the state of Pennsylvania is illegal for everyone, including medical patients
Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2016, Pennsylvania legalized the use of medical marijuana for qualified patients if recommended by a certified physician. By 2018, medical marijuana dispensaries were open to serve patients. Qualifying conditions include glaucoma, cancer, a terminal illness, epilepsy, opioid use disorder, HIV/AIDS, PTSD, among many others. Patients must register on the Pennsylvania department of health website and include a $50 fee with their application. Applications must include certification of a qualified condition from your doctor.
Home cultivation of marijuana is illegal for medical patients in Pennsylvania. Medical marijuana patients are limited to a 30-day supply of topicals, pills, oils, liquids and tinctures when purchasing cannabis products from a dispensary. Medical patients are prohibited from smoking marijuana flower as a method of treatment.
How to get approved for medical marijuana in Pennsylvania
After meeting with your physician and being diagnosed with a qualifying condition, residents of Pennsylvania may begin the online application process for their medical marijuana card. Patients will need to include certification from their physician that they suffer from a qualified condition.
Most medical marijuana cards will need to be renewed annually.
If you are traveling to Pennsylvania and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you are not allowed to purchase marijuana from a medical dispensary. You could be charged with a misdemeanor possession offense if caught with marijuana.
Recreational Marijuana Legislation in Pennsylvania
Recreational marijuana legalization has made little progress in Pennsylvania. There is strong support for legalization from the governor who has openly advocated for legal, recreational use in the state. Since 2012, twelve cities have passed measures decriminalizing possession of marijuana under 30 grams. Cities include Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, State College, Allentown, York, Erie, among others.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Pennsylvania
Possession up to 30 grams: A misdemeanor offense punishable by 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Possession over 30 grams: A misdemeanor offense punishable by up to one year in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Sale of 30 grams or less: A misdemeanor punishable with up to 30 days in jail along with a fine of $500.
Sale of over 30 grams: A felony punishable with up to 5 years in jail along with a fine of $15,000.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Pennsylvania
- Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of Pennsylvania and drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test if expected of driving while impaired
- The use of marijuana in public places is prohibited
- Possession of drug paraphernalia is punishable by up to a year in jail
Search the popular strains in Pennsylvania and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.Discover Strains →
Find the most conveniently located medical dispensary in Pennsylvania.Browse Dispensaries →