Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Rhode Island with medical legalized in 1998 and recreational legalized in 2016. Read on to learn more about Rhode Island's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in Rhode Island.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Rhode Island
- Medical marijuana is legal in the state of Rhode Island for adults with a qualifying condition who possess a medical marijuana card
- Rhode Island is home to several medical marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- Recreational marijuana is illegal in Rhode Island
- Possessing up to 28 grams of marijuana in Rhode Island is decriminalized and punishable by a $150 fine
- Medical patients who want to grow marijuana at home must fill out a separate registration form
Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2006, Rhode Island legalized the use of medical marijuana for qualified patients if recommended by an approved physician. The list of qualified conditions in Rhode Island is shorter than most medical states. Qualifying conditions include glaucoma, cancer, seizures, severe nausea, HIV/AIDS, PTSD, and a few others. Medical marijuana patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana. If a patient wishes to grow marijuana they will need to submit a different registration from. Growers must also purchase tags for each of their plants and are limited to 12 mature plants and 12 immature plants in their possession.
How to get approved for medical marijuana in Rhode Island
After meeting with your physician and being diagnosed with a qualifying condition, residents of Rhode Island may begin the online application process for their medical marijuana card. Patients must register on the Rhode Island Department of Health website and include a $50 fee with their application. Applications must include a practitioner form filled out by your doctor certifying your medical condition.
Medical marijuana cards need to be renewed annually.
If you are traveling to Rhode Island and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you may be allowed to purchase medical marijuana from a dispensary. Out-of-state medical cards are accepted from states that track medical sales, these states include: AK, AR, CA, CO, DC, DE, HI, IL, MA, MI, MT, NM, NV, NY, OH, OR, PA, RI, and WA.
Recreational Marijuana Legislation in Rhode Island
Recreational marijuana legalization has made little progress in Rhode Island but there is some hope due to recreational legalization in many other New England states. Maine, Massachusetts, Vermont, New York and New Jersey all will have recreational marijuana available to purchase. There also seems to be growing support for marijuana legalization with some lawmakers in Rhode Island.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Rhode Island
Possession up to 28 grams: A civil offense punishable by a $150 fine.
Possession over 28 grams: A misdemeanor offense punishable by up to one year in jail and a $500 fine.
Sale of 35 ounces or less: A felony punishable with up to 30 years in jail along with a fine of $100,000.
Jail time and fines escalate the more marijuana offenders possess.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Rhode Island
- Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of Rhode Island and drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test if expected of driving while impaired
- The use of marijuana in public places is prohibited
- Tags for marijuana cultivation are sold in pairs, one immature plant and one mature plant, for $25
Search the popular strains in Rhode Island and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.Discover Strains →