Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in Tennessee. Read on to learn more about Tennessee's current marijuana laws.
What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Tennessee
- Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in the state of Tennessee
- Low-THC CBD oil is legal to treat epilepsy and a limited number of other conditions
- Possession of less than 14 grams of marijuana is punishable by a $250 fine and up to a year in jail
- Neither medical or recreational marijuana legislation has made it far in either the House or Senate
- Cultivation of any amount of marijuana is a felony and punishable by up to six years in jail
Marijuana Legislation in Tennessee
Since 2015, physician’s practicing in Tennessee have been able to recommend CBD oil for children suffering from epilepsy. Unfortunately, there is no legal way to acquire CBD oil in the state. Parents of children in need of CBD oil for treatment may purchase CBD outside of Tennessee legally and bring it back into the state. A few cities in Tennessee have decriminalized possession of small amounts of marijuana including Nashville.
A number of medical marijuana bills have been drafted in the House and Senate. As recent as 2019 and 2020 medical marijuana bills have been introduced but failed to progress. There is support across Tennessee citizens for medical marijuana legalization but there doesn’t appear to be much support with current lawmakers.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Tennessee
Possession up to 14 grams (first offense): A misdemeanor offense punishable by a $250 fine and up to a year in jail.
Possession up to 14 grams (second offense): A misdemeanor offense punishable by up to a year in jail and a $500 fine.
Sale of less than 10 pounds: A felony punishable with up to six years in jail along with a fine of $5,000.
Cultivation of less than 10 plants: A felony punishable with up to six years in jail along with a fine of $5,000.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Tennessee
- In Tennessee, police may ask drivers to submit to a chemical test if they believe the driver is under the influence of marijuana and operating a motor vehicle
- Public consumption of marijuana is illegal and if caught offenders may be charged with a misdemeanor
- Possession of drug paraphernalia could result in a fine and up to a year in jail