Only medical marijuana is legal in Utah with medical legalized in 2017. Adult recreational use of cannabis remains illegal in Utah. Read on to learn more about Utah's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in Utah.
What you need to know about Utah's Cannabis Laws
- Medical marijuana is legal in the state of Utah for adults with a qualifying medical condition
- Utah is home to several medical marijuana dispensaries located across the state
- Recreational marijuana is illegal in Utah
- Possessing up to one ounce of marijuana in Utah is a misdemeanor and punishable with up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine
- It is illegal to grow marijuana in the state of Utah for residents even if you are a medical marijuana patient
Utah Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2018, Utah legalized the use of medical marijuana for qualified patients if recommended by a physician. Doctors must determine if a patient has a qualifying condition and is a good candidate for medical marijuana. Qualifying patients may purchase up to 113 grams of flower within a 30-day time period. In 2014, Utah passed legislation to allow the use of low THC CBD oil to treat epilepsy in patients. Some of the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana include, cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, ALS, seizures, MS, persistent nausea, chronic pain, and PTSD. Medical marijuana patients may not grow their own marijuana.
Check out the city maps (linked below) to find a medical dispensary in Utah.
How to get approved for medical marijuana in Utah
Patients must meet with a qualified medical provider to discuss if medical marijuana is an acceptable treatment for their condition. Once approved, patients must create a profile online with the Utah Department of Health and may begin the application process. A $15 application fee must be included at the time of submittal.
Patients must be medically evaluated after 90 days to retain certification for access to medical marijuana. Medical marijuana card renewals occur every six months to one year after the initial 90 day review.
If you are traveling to Utah and possess an out-of-state medical marijuana card, you are not allowed to purchase marijuana from a medical dispensary.
Recreational Marijuana Legislation in Utah
Since medical marijuana was legalized in 2018, little progress has been made with regard to legalizing recreational cannabis. With possession of small amounts of marijuana still a misdemeanor offense, recent efforts have been focused on decriminalization rather than legalization.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Utah
Possession up to one ounce: A misdemeanor offense punishable by a $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail.
Possession between one ounce and one pound: A misdemeanor offense punishable by up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
Possession over a pound: A felony offense punishable by up to five years in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Sale of any amount: A felony offense punishable by up to five years in jail and a $5,000 fine.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Utah
- Driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal in the state of Utah and drivers may be asked to submit to a chemical test if expected of driving while impaired
- The use of marijuana in public places is prohibited even for medical marijuana patients
- Cultivation of any amount of marijuana in Utah is illegal
Search the popular strains in Utah and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.
Find the most conveniently located dispensaries in Utah including: medical, delivers, and more.Browse Dispensaries →