Recreational and medical marijuana are both legal in Virginia with medical legalized in 2018 and recreational legalized in 2021. Read on to learn more about Virginia's current marijuana laws and where you can find a marijuana dispensary in Virginia.
What you need to know about Virginia’s Cannabis Laws
- Medical marijuana is legal for qualifying, prescribed patients and recreational marijuana will be legal on July 1, 2021
- Virginia is home to several marijuana dispensaries located across the state. However, with the advent of new regulations, that number is sure to grow
- It will be legal to possess/transport up to one ounce of marijuana for adults aged 21 and older on July 1, 2021
- It will be legal to cultivate up to four plants per household on July 1, 2021
- Prior to recreational legalization, possession of up to one ounce of marijuana was decriminalized in the state of Virginia carrying only a $25 fine
- Unlawful sale and trafficking of marijuana over an ounce is a felony and carries a minimum mandatory sentence of a year in prison and a maximum of 10 years
Virginia Recreational Marijuana Laws
Marijuana was legalized for use by adults over the age of 21 in February 2021 and will go into effect on July 1, 2021. If you live in Virginia or are visiting the state, you may carry up to one ounce of marijuana after July 1, 2021. Residents of Virginia will also be allowed to cultivate four plants per household. Sale of marijuana without a license is still illegal and anyone caught selling more than one ounce of marijuana faces a felony charge.
With recreational marijuana new to Virginia, dispensaries are applying for licenses and preparing for recreational sales to begin. PotAdvisor will continue to update our dispensary listings as new businesses open in the coming years. Check out our city maps (linked below) to find the closest recreational or medical dispensary near you.
Virginia Medical Marijuana Laws
In 2018, Virginia passed medical marijuana legislation legalizing the use of CBD and THCA oils as a form of treatment if recommended by a certified physician. Cannabis oil may be prescribed for individuals suffering from a physician-certified debilitating condition. Marijuana flower and other smokable products are not legal for medical cannabis patients. Medical marijuana qualifying conditions in Virginia include cachexia, Tourette Syndrome, MS, cancer, chronic pain, epilepsy, among other debilitating medical conditions. There are only a handful of medical marijuana dispensaries open in Virginia.
How to get your Medical Marijuana Card in Virginia
Applications for a medical marijuana card must be submitted to the Virginia Department of Health Professions. Applications must include a recommendation from a registered physician on the Board of Pharmacy. The application fee is $50.
Virginia does not accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards.
Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Virginia
Laws as of July 1, 2021
Possession up to one ounce: No penalty
Possession between one ounce and one pound: A civil violation punishable by a $25 fine.
Sale of one ounce to five pounds: A felony offense punishable by up to ten years in jail and a $2,500 fine.
Sale and trafficking charges carry minimum mandatory sentences for offenders in Virginia.
Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Virginia
- Public use or consumption of marijuana is illegal in Virginia. This includes sporting and music venues, state and national parks, campsites, bars, and restaurants
- It is illegal to use marijuana in a vehicle for both drivers and passengers. Drivers in Virginia could be charged with a DUI if they are found to be driving under the influence of marijuana
- Possession of marijuana for adults remains illegal until July 1, 2021
Search the popular strains in California and learn more about their effects, THC/CBD content, uses and more.