Cannabis leave with red negation circle

Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in Wisconsin. Read on to learn more about Wisconsin's current marijuana laws.

Cannabis Products Legal to Purchase in California

What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Wisconsin

  • Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in the state of Wisconsin
  • Low-THC CBD oil is legal to treat medical conditions like epilepsy and seizures if prescribed by a physician
  • Neither medical or recreational marijuana legislation has made it far in either the House or Senate
  • Cultivation of any number of marijuana plants is a felony offense punishable between 3.5-15 years in jail based on the total number of plants
  • Wisconsin has some of the harshest marijuana penalties in the United States

Marijuana Legislation in Wisconsin

Since 2014, physician’s practicing in Wisconsin have been able to recommend CBD oil for children suffering from seizures. Over the past few years additional conditions like epilepsy have been added to the short list of conditions approved to treat with CBD oil. State lawmakers haven’t shown any support for additional marijuana legalization bills.

A few medical marijuana bills have been drafted but failed to make it out of the House or Senate. There is support from citizens in Wisconsin for medical marijuana legalization but there doesn’t appear to be any support with Republican lawmakers. A number of cities in Wisconsin have passed decriminalization laws including Milwaukee and Madison.

Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Wisconsin

Cannabis & the Law

Possession of any amount (first offense): A misdemeanor offense punishable by a $1,000 fine and up to 6 months in jail.

Possession of any amount (second offense): A felony offense punishable by up to 3.5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.

Sale of any amount: A felony offense with 3.5-15 years in jail and up to a $50,000 fine.

Cultivation of any amount: A felony offense with 3.5-15 years in jail and up to a $50,000 fine.

Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Wisconsin

  • In Wisconsin, police may ask drivers to submit to a chemical test if they believe the driver is under the influence of marijuana and operating a motor vehicle
  • Public consumption of marijuana is illegal and if caught offenders may be charged with a misdemeanor
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia could result in a misdemeanor charge with 30 days in jail and a $500 fine
Cannabis & Handcuffs