Cannabis leave with red negation circle

Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in Wyoming. Read on to learn more about Wyoming's current marijuana laws.

Cannabis Products Legal to Purchase in California

What you need to know about Marijuana Laws in Wyoming

  • Both recreational and medical marijuana are illegal in the state of Wyoming
  • Low-THC CBD oil is legal to treat medical seizures if prescribed by a physician
  • Neither medical or recreational marijuana legislation has made it far in either the House or Senate
  • Cultivation of any number of marijuana plants is a misdemeanor offense punishable by 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine
  • Wyoming is a state with some of the harshest marijuana penalties where citizens may be arrested for being under the influence of marijuana

Marijuana Legislation in Wyoming

Since 2015, physician’s practicing in Wyoming have been able to recommend CBD oil for children suffering from seizures. The law does not provide patients with access to CBD oil in the state forcing those who want to use the treatment seek out CBD oil in other states. State lawmakers haven’t shown much support for additional marijuana legalization bills.

A few medical marijuana bills have been drafted but failed to make it out of the House or Senate. There is support from citizens in Wyoming for medical marijuana legalization but there doesn’t appear to be enough support with lawmakers. Four pro-medical marijuana bills or acts have been proposed in the past six years, there is hope that lawmakers will see the success in other states and want to move forward with medical legalization.

Marijuana Fines and Penalties in Wyoming

Cannabis & the Law

Under the influence of marijuana: A misdemeanor offense punishable by a $750 fine and up to 6 months in jail.

Possession of three ounces or less: A misdemeanor offense punishable by a $1,000 fine and up to a year in jail.

Possession of over three ounces: A felony offense punishable by up to 5 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.

Cultivation of any amount: A misdemeanor offense with up to 6 months in jail and up to a $1,000 fine.

Sale of any amount: A felony offense carry up to 10 years in jail and up to a $10,000 fine.

Additional Marijuana Laws to be Aware of in Wyoming

  • In Wyoming, police may ask drivers to submit to a chemical test if they believe the driver is under the influence of marijuana and operating a motor vehicle
  • Public consumption of marijuana is illegal and if caught offenders may be charged with a misdemeanor
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia could result in 6 months in jail and a $750 fine
Cannabis & Handcuffs